I think I’m going to heaven because I did my time in hell (edited)

A genetic malformation in my brain burst, almost resulting in my demise.When I came out of my coma I was surprised to learn my entire left side of my body was limp and useless but I survived, didn’t I? To my horror, however, every time I spoke my words were confusing, nothing but a cornucopia of mush. I had strewn together a mixture of words and phrases that made no sense. 

Doctors, nurses, orderlies, even my own family could not understand the words coming out my mouth. I could form full paragraphs in my head but what came out was a mismatch interpretation of grunts. The technical term is severe aphasia… 

My mind, imagination and thought process were fine but everything coming out of my mouth confused people. Do you have any idea what it’s like to have your head racing with idea after idea or fully comprehend the world around you but then you speak and it all comes out incoherent !? So you try to write everything down with your right hand (since you were left handed all your life) you can spell out everything in your head but when you try to write everything down your mind goes blank !?  My whole life even when I was a young child I wanted to be a writer and now it looked like a dream would never happen! Since you’re babbling like a baby everybody treats you like a baby. Orderlies and nurses were “inconvenienced,” aggravated by my presence. I was an otherwise healthy young man and everybody treated me like a baby, blowing me off like I was forsaken and cast off hopelessly too far gone to be a usefull member of society. When I got out of the hospital I was wheel chair bound. It is embarrassing, I needed help wiping my own butt! 

I persevered. I got an account on audible.com to listen to books. nd I began retraining myself. First I chose comic books to read graduating to graphic novels, then extremely short novellas. I eventually read a trilogy with part one being a 313 page novel.  

To improve speech impediment my wife purchased the Dragon program by Nuance (speech to text) and I rummaged through folder after folder of my old stories through the ages. meantwhile I mercilessly worked out at the gym until in time I healed, I got better just the limp hand left hand which I only barey grip with.  

Now, I’m getting to the point!!! My passion for writing was renewed and I began on a manic quest to finish my obsession, the manuscript called Wolf’s Blood. I’m a man that doesn’t throw any of my work away. Even if it’s shit…I draw inspiration from it. So my first manuscript is now my first printed book and E-book out now at on mazon.com (editing problems delayed my initial 2012 release date …) 

Through just dictation and after some tweaking the character “James” was spawned. He was a disabled young man fill with angst, now a central figure in my trilogy, mirroring my experiences through hell and back… Wolf’s Blood… rrival; Book One of the Wolves’ Blood trilogy. 

As I went through my dusty notes and fit them all together like an intricate jigsaw puzzle I relearned what the bleed had taken away from me. Now I’m back and finished with book two.

Leave a Reply

